Eyebloom's Diary

Newest Entry

Older Entries

Contact Me

Diaryland


June 09, 2003 - 10:08 p.m.

What sort of action do you take?

The thing that I believe is true for all people is that they will always put themselves first. Sometimes it may seem that they're being selfless, but if you look closer, they're filling one or another of their own needs as well - whether it be self-esteem, love, physical, emotional, spiritual, etc. I don't think there exist any truly selfless people in the entire world. Even a saint is gratified - whether by love, admiration, worship, or faith...

So, I really can't ever say that I believe anyone would put me before him/herself. I just don't think it's possible. If they do something to please me, it's because they want to - because it will make them feel good. If they hurt me, they're still doing what they feel is best for them. And here, on the flip side: I think there are people out there that would avoid hurting others even at their own expense, because it would destroy them inside to be a part of another's pain. So their actions may have nothing to do with pleasing anyone, including themselves, but rather to keep themselves from being hurt... Self preservation in protecting others, and self-gratification in pleasing others.

But then again, that's not everyone. There are really those people who don't think at all about their actions, and who or how they will effect others. They don't consider that the chain reaction from anything they do should ultimately lead back to them. Some of these people I think I would call evil. They're a break in the human link.

So, are you a self-pleaser, or a self-preserver? Or are you a void in the web of human feeling?


previous - next

about me - read my profile! read 

other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a 

friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com